History - Asantehene Open

In honour of the Asantehene, since 1955

 The Asantehene Amateur Golf Tournament (Asantehene Open Championship) was first played in 1955 in honour of the Asantehene. The first tournament was won by Mr. Justice L.C. Lingley. In the early years of the tournament, it was dominated by expatriates who at that time formed the bulk of the membership of the club and generally golfers in the country. The expatriate dominance was broken in 1963 when S. K. Appiah won the first of his seven championships. Though S. K. Appiah successfully defended the trophy in 1964 the expatriate dominance continued until after the 1974 tournament which was won by Mr. J. C. Ryan. 

Ghanaians have dominated the championship ever since. This was because of a membership drive for Ghanaian members and the gradual popularity of the game among Ghanaians all over the country.

Only five (5) golfers have successfully defended the trophy – S. K. Appiah (1963, 1964). W. Degbe (1982, 1983), Kofi Nimako (1992, 1993), James Larry (1995, 1996) and Kojo Barni (2001, 2002). 

In 2009, MTN signed a 5-year title sponsorship agreement with the club. This continued until 2017 when another telecom giant Vodafone took over the title sponsorship with an initial 5-year agreement which was extended for another 5 years. However in 2024, the ownership changed to Telecel and the new telecom company continued with the lead sponsorship. The open championship has received continuous sponsorship support from CalBank, GTS Drilling (formerly Geodrill), Tang Palace Hotel, Sinapi Aba Savings and Loans Limited, AMBE Restaurant and Guinness Ghana Breweries PLC.

The Asantehene Open Golf Championship started and remains an amateur event. However, in recent times Professional participation has grown into significant numbers from the late 2000s peaking at 46 players in the last 2 years, ie 2022  in 2023. Participants came from Ghana, Cote D'Ivoire, Togo and Nigeria.  In 2023, the tournament witnessed the first participation of 13 Lady Professionals from Cote D'Ivoire, Nigeria, Senegal, Uganda and Zimbabwe.